Massa Answers his Critics as Ferrari take 1-2 in Bahrain

Posted on 8 April, 2008

Massa Answers his Critics as Ferrari take 1-2 in Bahrain
Two races down, no finishes, no points, so how do you respond? Felipe Massa showed his critics exactly how at the Bahrain Grand Prix by taking the chequered ahead of teammate Kimi Raikkonen for Ferrari’s first 1-2 of the season.

Massa had been dominating the track all weekend topping free practice session times but was just pipped by Robert Kubica for his and BMW’s first ever pole position. He soon made up for this by over taking the Polish driver at the lights to take the lead and there he stayed despite a mid race challenge from team mate Kimi Raikkonen.

Kubica eventually finished 3rd with his BMW team mate Nick Heidfeld just behind him completing another successful grand prix which leaves the German team heading the constructors championship.

McLaren driver Heikki Kovalainen eventually finished 5th, but Lewis Hamilton had a nightmare. Starting from 3rd on the grid, the British driver was hoping to be challenging the leaders from the offset, however he failed to hit the car’s anti-stall button and found himself down in 10th position off the line. Things then went from bad to worse as he drove into the back of former team mate Fernando Alonso forcing him to make an early unscheduled pit stop prompting claims the Spaniard deliberately “brake tested” Hamilton. Ron Dennis later reported the crash was due to a wing failure and not a driver error as Hamilton believed it to be. Eventually Hamilton finished 13th and a lap down.

The result now leaves Raikkonen leading the world championships on 19 points, three points ahead of Heidfeld with Hamilton, Kubica and Kovalianen all on 14 points as the Formula 1 race season heads to Barcelona in three weeks time.

Bahrain Grand Prix Race Result

Pos Driver Team Laps Time/Retired Grid Pts
1 Felipe Massa Ferrari 57 1:31:06.970 2 10
2 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 57 +3.3 secs 4 8
3 Robert Kubica BMW 57 +4.9 secs 1 6
4 Nick Heidfeld BMW 57 +8.4 secs 6 5
5 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 57 +26.7 secs 5 4
6 Jarno Trulli Toyota 57 +41.3 secs 7 3
7 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 57 +45.4 secs 11 2
8 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 57 +55.8 secs 8 1
9 Timo Glock Toyota 57 +69.5 secs 13  
10 Fernando Alonso Renault 57 +77.1 secs 10  
11 Rubens Barrichello Honda 57 +77.8 secs 12  
12 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Ferrari 56 +1 Lap 18  
13 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 56 +1 Lap 3  
14 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 56 +1 Lap 16  
15 Sebastien Bourdais STR-Ferrari 56 +1 Lap 15  
16 Anthony Davidson Super Aguri-Honda 56 +1 Lap 21  
17 Takuma Sato Super Aguri-Honda 56 +1 Lap 22  
18 David Coulthard Red Bull-Renault 56 +1 Lap 17  
19 Adrian Sutil Force India-Ferrari 55 +2 Laps 20  
Ret Nelsinho Piquet Renault 40 Gearbox 14  
Ret Jenson Button Honda 19 Accident damage 9  
Ret Sebastian Vettel STR-Ferrari 0 Accident damage 19